It’s been too long…

This is a brief update, I promise to post more details soon:

Sorry, Forgive me folks, I know it’s been a while… sometimes you just need to take a timeout to regroup and refocus. Over the past month I’ve been traveling like a madman and preparing for a summer that’s going to be a lot busier than I would have wanted going into school, but I really have no choice. However, In the past few weeks I’ve taken a few big steps.

  • I’ve already started my recruiting process: After realizing Consortium OP wasn’t going to cut it for some of the fields I am looking to get into, I figure it’s worth it to jump-start things a bit rather than waiting until the thick of the chase in the Fall and Spring.
  • I officially committed myself to Tuck: I waited until the final hour, but yes folks it’s officially official. I will be wearing something green for the remainder of my life!
  • Winner: Best of Blogging for 2011 – 2012 from Clear Admit. Won three of four categories including ‘Best Overall’… Thank you guys for voting for me!! Next year we go for MBA Blog of the Year!
  • I finally reveal my identity here. There are a handful of you out there that know me in person–but I’m looking forward to meeting many of you in the next few years as I plan on continuing my blogging throughout B-school.

For a few weeks in there I’ll admit I had some schizophrenic episodes waffling about schools. I got some expected bad news and then some unexpected great news all inside of a few weeks that had me teeter tottering between my remaining available options. I’m now comfortable (and of course Happy) with where I’m at.

Something else that’s been rattling around in my brain is recalibrating my career path. Without going into great and gory detail–I haven’t necessarily had a change of heart about education design/education consulting, but I’ve been thinking A LOT more strategically about where I ultimately want to be long-term as a successful entrepreneur. I’ve had the good fortune of picking up a few new clients recently that have really challenged my perceptions of working in the education space. I’m learning a lot about administrative issues, that well, quite frankly I learned working in higher ed, but it’s even more amazing to see the tomfoolery from the outside looking in.

That said, a recent project really opened my eyes to something I brushed aside several months back… many of my clients don’t just want you to propose a grand solution that will actually impact their students, they also want you to work out their internal HR issues as well (although that’s not part of the contract). It got me thinking about what’s more valuable—going right into ed consulting (and dealing with administrative minutia), or going into a field where you learn to handle people issues and finding solutions to looming business issues… we shall see, I haven’t given up yet, but I’m keepin an open mind.

Finally, I want to congratulate Cheetarah1980 and LadyRoadWarrior who were blessed with scholarship offers from their schools of choice. Both ladies have been a source of inspiration and support for myself and other throughout this process and I look forward to calling them not only my colleagues but also my friends.

Comments
4 Responses to “It’s been too long…”
  1. Anonymous says:

    I am thrilled you’ll be a tuckie and proud of you from outing yourself!
    -Meghan

  2. Zil Nabu says:

    Yay!! A blog post. I’ve been waiting for this. Thank you for the congratulations, and I wish the same to you. You’re gonna be an awesome Tuckie. You and LRW are going to have so much fun without me, trudging through snow, camping outside, killing your own food. It’s going to be a remarkable two years, LOL. In all seriousness I can’t wait to see what you have up your sleeve. And awesome outing. Very cool interview.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] update, at last! — After an unusually long silent spell, The Senator checks in once again with the b-school blogosphere. Using the time away to regroup and refocus, he […]

  2. […] Senator is committing to Tuck and wearing something green forever; he’s also outed his true identity.  Though blubbering on […]



Leave a comment