Ready, Set, Go!

Saturday marks the official start of the 46th annual Consortium Orientation Program aka ‘OP’. A couple of months ago I was complaining (yes, I called myself out) about the companies that were attending and the lack of opportunities that I REALLY wanted to pursue. Gotta say, that while I still believe the overall list of participants could use some work, I’m giving a golf clap to the Consortium staff for spreading out some solid options that I’m genuinely excited for.

Distractions…

OP couldn’t have come at a worse time for me. This week has been the busiest of my career, my sister got married this past weekend, I just got back from a funeral 15 minutes ago, and this Saturday marks the start of my biggest professional project to date… too bad I’ll miss it. As you can imagine, I’ve had little time to really prep for interviews and I’m feeling overwhelmed by the upcoming week.

Drinking from the Fire Hose…

First of all I want to give a shout out the Tuck School’s career services office. In all seriousness, I can’t even begin to describe the immense help I’ve already gotten and school hasn’t even started. Let’s just run off a few things they’ve done for us Tuckies:

  1. Interview Prep Videos
  2. Interview Prep Guides
  3. Alumni Connections at Companies Recruiting at OP
  4. E-mails to Corporate Recruiters on Our Behalf
  5. Offers to Mock Interviews
  6. Case Studies

I could list off more, but I’ll stop because I can’t give away all the trade secrets. In any event, I have a lot more information to absorb than I really wanted to and not a lot of time to prepare in the meantime. Looks like I’ll be spending my nights at OP cramming like a mad man.

Some Early Successes…

I’ll be honest, my ‘unique’ resume had me a bit concerned I would have a very difficult time getting interviews at OP. Quite the contrary. Not sure if it’s the fact that I have ‘Tuck’ on my resume or recruiters actually value my work experience but I’ve been overwhelmed by the e-mails and phone calls over the past week. One company, which I won’t name, e-mailed me four times in two days and followed up with three phone calls within a 24 hour period!! Absolutely humbling to feel that wanted.

Amidst it all I have to remind myself to keep a cool head about it. I’m sure there are even more successful candidates out there getting hit up left and right for interviews. At the end of the day, I’m really looking forward to this weekend and early next week. Time to make some new friends, meet some great companies and reflect on getting one step closer towards achieving my dreams.

Comments
7 Responses to “Ready, Set, Go!”
  1. OhDenny says:

    Have a great time! Say ‘hi’ to all of my SOMers, and don’t be terrified if a strange lady from Haas says hello. I told her to look out for you.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] CCatcher gave readers a brief status update on Johnson and Tepper, promising a longer update when all things financial pan out.  Following up on a previous post, Cheetarah discussed the merits of being an untraditional applicant.  MBA Over 30 connected an online panel on entrepreneurship with certain trends at top MBA programs.  MRI talked about the Indian mindset.  This application season is now in motion for Str1der, who is getting an early start on the Stanford essay set to get the introspective juices flowing.  The Senator, meanwhile, was humbled by his successful experience of the 46th Annual Consortium Orientation Program & Career Forum. […]

  2. […] to a great start—It’s been an intense few weeks for The Senator, who had a full plate crammed with everything from a wedding, a funeral, a huge professional […]

  3. […] to a great start—It’s been an intense few weeks for The Senator, who had a full plate crammed with everything from a wedding, a funeral, a huge professional […]

  4. […] CCatcher gave readers a brief status update on Johnson and Tepper, promising a longer update when all things financial pan out.  Following up on a previous post, Cheetarah discussed the merits of being an untraditional applicant.  MBA Over 30 connected an online panel on entrepreneurship with certain trends at top MBA programs.  MRI talked about the Indian mindset.  This application season is now in motion for Str1der, who is getting an early start on the Stanford essay set to get the introspective juices flowing.  The Senator, meanwhile, was humbled by his successful experience of the 46th Annual Consortium Orientation Program & Career Forum. […]



Leave a comment