The Big Week… It’s here

the-future

Two words describe my mindset at the moment: anxious and afraid. Just a week ago today I was interviewing at Yale University, wrapping up the last of eight b-school interviews…. seems like a decade ago. The days have been ticking by slowly. As someone appropriately stated this morning in my Facebook news feed, “Doesn’t it feel like when you’re anxiously awaiting something time slows down?” :deep breath: :exhale:

Since my visit to the Tuck School of Business in mid-November, this week has been circled and dubbed “D-Week”. Of ALL the schools I applied to, NONE, not even Stanford garners the anticipation factor that Tuck does. The fact that I’m feeling the way I am right now says a lot about choices for school. In my mind, Kellogg is the smarter choice, it’s ranked higher, closer to home, I have a place to live rent free and likely free meals from relatives when I go broke. In my heart though, I’ve been pumping green blood through my body since November.

I know I’ve been doing a bad job masking my true feelings to my blog followers and gmatclub.com brethren so I need to cut the pretending act and just come out with it. IF I get into Tuck this week, my heart may be making the decision for me. There are so many things about Tuck that I shouldn’t like:

  • It’s in the middle of nowhere
  • I have to drive to Boston to get my haircut
  • I’m not the most outdoorsy person in the world
  • No personal space
  • Back to living in the dorms
  • Food options are, eh

I could go on and on. But even with all the cons, I love the place and it’s the only school I visited that the instant I arrived I felt like I was home. The infectiousness of the Tuck community, open-armed alums and the serene landscape is like a steady IV drip tapping my spine. By now you have to be thinking, “This dude is setting himself up for the letdown of the century if he doesn’t get accepted.” Guess what… I’m not going to argue with you, because you’re 100% correct. If I don’t get into Tuck it will likely be the most difficult rejection in recent memory. On the flip side though I have to keep a positive attitude this week – life will continue to happen whether I get in or not and I’m preparing myself to accept the realities of any scenario.

As a man of faith, it’s time to let God do his work. I’ve put forth my best effort and have tried to approach this week with a humble attitude. With as many setbacks as I’ve dealt with in the past decade I’m ready fulfill my teenage dream… Where the backdrop of that dream comes to life? I do not know right now, but maybe, just maybe, at the end of this week my steps will be ordered by the beat of my heart.

Comments
3 Responses to “The Big Week… It’s here”
  1. Anonymous says:

    This blog post could have been your why Tuck essay man! Hope that you hear some good news.
    -Jackson

    • Tell me about it Jackson. If I have one regret in terms of the way I played it… I should have visited BEFORE I did my essay. Can’t look back now though.

      It’s like that really odd point in a relationship where you say “I love you” to your companion and they don’t respond immediately.

      Here’s to hoping Tuck says, “I love you too.”

  2. Anonymous says:

    I’ve been reading for a few weeks now, and just wanted to say thanks for being so honest with the posts. It’s nice to read someone else is going through it all too. Best of luck this week.

Leave a Reply

