Happy Belated Holidays

Happy belated holidays, y’all! I needed a break from MBA land and thankfully I was able to spend some much-needed time with my family. One person who was missing though was my girlfriend. I hope next year she can join us for Christmas.

My mother is thrilled that I got into Kellogg. For her Christmas gift I gave her the leather-bound notebook holder they send me along with my acceptance letter. My dad had his chest out like a proud father when he read the letter embossed with a distinguished gold Kellogg seal. One of my greatest joys is seeing my parents proud of me. I was raised in a halfrican family (Half African, Half African (and Native) American) where family pride and representing your namesake was amongst the most important virtues.

I’m kind of the black sheep of the family because I didn’t follow a ‘traditional’ career path, but I think my folks appreciate and respect the fact that I decided to trailblaze, so to speak.

I’m looking forward to 2012 and all of the great surprises it will bring with it!

//

Leave a Reply

