Closing in on the finish line

Consortium School Checklist:

Done:

  • Tuck School of Business Video Essay
  • Cornell Johnson Essays and Park Leadership Program Essays
  • Yale School of Management Essays
  • Consortium Mission Essay
  • Personal Statement

To Do:

  • Darden School Essay
  • Emory Essays
  • Berkeley Essays
  • Send GMAT Scores to Consortium

Right now I can say I have a wide smile on my face. Two weeks to go and I’m pretty darn close to putting a bowtie on this tuxedo. All of my essays are either finished or in draft format. The Consortium application is filled out and my recommenders are either done (or close to it). I must say from a time management perspective I actually impressed myself that I’m this close to pulling off applying to nine schools. When I first started the process I had 15! Can you imagine? Generally I’m pleased with essay quality however I do think that some schools I really took a lead of faith from an interpretive standpoint. We’ll see if schools can match this with my entrepreneurial style and appreciate the risks taken.

Looming in the back of my mind…

So far I’ve spent over $1500 dollars on GMAT prep, application fees and fringe costs. My total budget was around $2500 and with my trip to Tuck next week I’ll be close to that and I’ve only done one interview. I really hope this process doesn’t end up breaking my bank account. I’m trying to do my best to save for school too.

Leave a Reply

