List condensed and recommendations

After adding some grey hairs I finally have done three things I needed to do:

  1. Narrow down my list
  2. Secure recommenders
  3. Budget

Without further ado here is what I decided on and in no particular order:

  • Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Tuck School of Business
  • Cornell Johnson School
  • Kellogg School of Management
  • Wharton School
  • Yale School of Management
  • Emory Goizueta School
  • UVA Darden School
  • Haas School of Business

Six of the nine schools I applied to are members of the Consortium Graduate Study in Management, so I’m super thrilled to only have one common application for those to fill out. Although from the looks of it, many more essays than initially anticipated, so it looks like it’s not only my summer I’ll be giving up, my weekends are gone too now. So you might ask why the schools I chose. Admittedly one or two are safety schools that I think I have a better than average chance of getting into. The other question is why so many? The answer: I felt like with Consortium since one of the advantages is that you can apply to up to six schools I may as well get the most bang for my buck. Stanford is a long shot for me and I’m still questioning the strength of my essays. Wharton is an interesting mix of a highly technical education with a lot of options at U Penn that is hard to turn down. I’ve visited Kellogg and I really like to people and the persona of the students, highly collaborative and a lot of dreamers.

One school that I hope to learn more about is the Tuck School at Dartmouth. So I haven’t ranked my schools yet in order of where I’d like to go because I still have more research to do but from the little research I’ve done about Tuck (Yale and Cornell) I’ve seen and heard nothing but good things. They aren’t very well known in the midwest but there is an upcoming info session that I’ll be attending to learn more.

Recommendation Situation:

I have great coworkers and mentors. After lamenting about my boss’s non support of me going to business school I reached out to my coworker and mentor (indirect supervisor) and they’ve both agree to step up for me. I will have my direct boss write a recommendation for Stanford, but I’m certain that I’ll regret it. I’ve decided to move on with our relationship as well and try to be professional. He’s been avoiding me like the plague and I can tell it’s eating him up inside that I’ve firmly decided it’s time for me to go. We did have a brief convo this week about upcoming projects and I told him point blank it was my goal to make sure the work I’ve done will be poised for the next person to carry on… I think that’s when it hit him.

Budget:

Since starting this whole process work for my small business has slowed down so I’m fretting the impending expenditures on the horizon. I already know I can’t afford to hopscotch all over the east and west coasts so I’m trying to be very strategic about visits and contact with all of these schools. I just hope for some programs it won’t hurt me too much.

Leave a Reply

