Taking a Much Needed Break

There comes a point in time where you need to take a mini-vaca. For me, I go to Chicago and hang out with my Uncle. A few years ago he and his wife moved from Detroit to Chicago after the auto industry crashed to get a change of scenery and transition into new jobs. My uncle has always been like a big brother to me… we eat, drink and talk crap to each other. When I need to lift my spirits I hang out with him and we spend the weekend cooking, drinking beer and watching sports. This past weekend was no different. Since I began this b-school process I also haven’t told anyone outside of my immediate family or my girlfriend that I was applying to school. I don’t know why, I guess I just want it to be a surprise when I take that leap of faith.

It’s Monday now and the weather has started to recede into a crispy midwestern chill, I can’t help but think what like would be like going to Stanford or Berkeley where I didn’t have to expose myself to subzero temps for half the year? In less than a month my Consortium application is due, and I haven’t visited a single school on my list. I wonder how much this will hurt me? I actually did apply for the Tuck Diversity Conference in November and was accepted, but I feel like everyone who applies gets in. In any event, I’m looking forward to it.

I keep telling myself one more month until it’s all over. And then I have to wait.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

